Let’s face the facts: not all certifications are based on our true calling. They are often a better career choice or the most accessible option to gain a quick career boost. It is often about being granted the opportunity to take the Associate level Cisco certifications (Cisco‚Äôs most popular certification level). This depends on whether you meet the requirements. Some Associate level certifications have prerequisites, while others do not. It makes sense to divide the CCNA certifications into two groups: those with prerequisites and those without.
Today we will be discussing the more complex CCNAs, which require previous Cisco certifications. To proceed, you will need a valid Cisco CCNA, CCNA, or any Cisco CCIE. This list includes the following Cisco Associate level certificates as of October 2013. However, we encourage you, as always to double-check with the official website for more details. Today we will be looking at:
CCNA Security
CCNA Service Provider Operations
CCNA Voice
CCNA Wireless
CCDA: Network Design Engineer
You didn’t need a certification in Network Design Engineer until recently. Cisco has made the CCENT a prerequisite for the Network Design Engineer program. Candidates should have a better understanding of switched and routed networks and previous experience in this field.
This certification validates your knowledge of network design for Cisco converged networks. It is primarily based upon Borderless Network Architecture. Cisco certified Network Design Engineers are able to design infrastructures that include routed and switched networks. This includes LAN, wireless, and broadband access.
CCNA SecurityThe title of this certification program focuses on the security aspects of Cisco networking technology. This includes the development of a complete security infrastructure, analysis and recognition for threats and vulnerabilities in a network, as well as mitigating those threats. The CCNA Security exam and curriculum are highly focused on core security technologies, installing, troubleshooting, and continuous monitoring all network devices. Data integrity, confidentiality, and availability of data is the highest priority at all time.
Cisco has added IPV6 to many of their certifications and exams. CCNA Security candidates are said to have a good understanding of the new protocol because of their CCENT or CCNA R&S certificates. The CCNA Security exam (640-554 IIINS) places a greater emphasis on the new protocol. Even if you have the latest CCNA R&S certification it doesn’t mean that this part will be easy. Remember that the 640-554 exam will go deeper into the IPV6’s details. Don’t just glance at the study guide; take the time to read it.
Cisco recommends taking the Implementing Cisco IOS Network Security course (IINS) to prepare for the exam. Even if this is not your plan, it’s a good idea to read it for guidance and preparation details.
CCNA Service Provider Operations
This Cisco certification is similar to CCNA Service Provider. It does not require any prerequisites, and is therefore more popular. Although they share many topics, CCNA Service Provider Operations focuses more on combining process and technology than being entirely Cisco-centric.
ITIL is another thing that distinguishes CCNA Service Provider Operations from other certifications. This allows candidates to greatly expand their horizons as well as.